Tags

, , , ,

As you are all aware, there are more product available to us today compared to our parents generation. You seldom wonder – well at least I wonder – if I should be getting big named products or drugstore products. As a teenager, I was not able to afford the high end products so I always stuck to drugstore. Even then as you find yourself standing in an aisle at the drugstore, you have to narrow down hundreds of products to the one you want. Decisions, decisions, decisions. It’s never ending.

Now that I am older and can afford to splurge at times on products, I try to lean towards the higher end products. Don’t get me wrong though, I still have my love of drugstore products. Some are tried and true while others are now out the door for me.

As some of you may or may not know, I am a big fan of Pinterest and have been on long before the hype. There are a few things I found on Pinterest that are like DIY facials and so forth. I’ve tried and come to love it/them.

Below are a few things on my beauty list now that I love and will/may not love down the road. This will be an ever changing page for me as life goes on.

If you have any products/DIY beauty stuff that you adore and would like to share with me, please do so. I may just give it a try to see if I will love it as much as you do.

DIY Vitamin C Mask

How to make your own vitamin C mask:

  • Mix 1 tablespoon of vitamin C with 1/2 tablespoon filtered water. If your skin is dry you can substitute water for 100 % pure aloe vera gel.
  • Apply to face and leave on for about 10-15 min. Avoid directly under the eyes.
  • Remove with a soft warm wash cloth.

I found the DIY Vitamin C Mask first on Pinterest (here’s my pin)and from there I went onto Delighted Momma’s blog to find the recipe for the mask (above). She doesn’t talk about how often you should do the mask, but I do it about once a week. Sometimes two times a week. I don’t think you could do much harm with your skin if you do three times a week since the ingredients aren’t toxic or anything – totally my thought. :)

Now, you are probably wondering where you could find Vitamin C Powder? I bought mine at Whole Foods, but I am sure you would be able to find it at any organic marketplace such as Sprouts, Sunflower Market or so.

Living in Colorado, I have very dry skin in the winter time so I opt to use aloe vera in lieu of water as mentioned above. I have to say that this mask has definitely help me out with the dry skin. It also has help a bit with the uneven skin tones on my face.

If you decide to give this a try, let me know how it works out for you.

